A child raises their hand to answer a question at Bangabandu Primary School

Level 1 FAQs

Home > Level 1 FAQs

You can find our frequently asked questions below. If you have any further questions, take a look at our downloadable Level 1 Checklist, or email the Central Team at rrsa@unicef.org.uk.


Level 1 Checklist


How long does it take to achieve Level 1?

Schools tend to take between 12 – 18 months, but it depends on each school and the priority RRSA is given within school by the senior leadership team.

What do I do to ensure staff have the right key messages about RRSA, feel confident to teach about the Convention and incorporate it into their teaching?

You can use the guidance documents on this website, attend RRSA training courses that we run across the country, or invite a RRSA trainer into your school to run staff training. We also have excellent resources to support teaching.

Is there an assessment visit for Level 1? How much does it cost?

Yes, a Unicef UK RRSA representative will visit your school to assess whether you have reached Level 1. The cost for the assessment visit is currently £475 + VAT (less if your school has fewer than 50 pupils). Find out more about costs of the RRSA.

What happens when I think my school is ready to be assessed for Level 1?

Have a look at our Level 1 checklist to check that you are ready. When you have completed all of the actions, send through your documents and contact your Professional Advisor to book a date.

What happens on the Level 1 assessment day?

Please see the suggested programme for the day, outlining what happens on the assessment. You will be invited to adapt the programme to suit your school day. Find out more about the Level 1 assessment day.

How long is the Level 1 Award valid for?

The Level 1 Award (and the Level 2) is valid for 3 years.

What happens when we have had the Level 1 Award for 3 years?

Most schools are assessed for the Level 2 Award within three years of achieving Level 1. If you don’t think you are quite ready you can be re-assessed at Level 1.