Baby Friendly accreditation takes place in stages (view more information on the requirements for Baby Friendly accreditation).

To hear about our supporters' stories to accreditation, see our blog site.

We would love to hear the story of how you achieved full Baby Friendly accreditation. To submit, please email us at, with the following information: unit name, date of accreditation, details of the biggest challenge you faced and your proudest moment in your accreditation journey, along with a photo.

No current information
Facilities that have not contacted UNICEF UK to engage with the Baby Friendly accreditation process.

Intent registered
Facilities that have registered their intention to work towards accreditation but have not yet requested any assessments. This means that UNICEF UK has no information about the standard of care they provide.

Certificate of Commitment
A certificate to mark the facility’s commitment to work towards Baby Friendly accreditation.  This involves writing an action plan and infant feeding policy and will usually follow an implementation visit by a Baby Friendly assessor.

Stage 1 Accreditation
The facility has created policies and procedures to support the implementation of the standards and these have been externally assessed by UNICEF UK and found to be adequate.
For universities the curriculum, lesson plans, teaching aids and materials for students are assessed.

Stage 2 Accreditation
The facility has educated their staff to implement the Baby Friendly standards and been externally assessed by UNICEF UK. This assessment involves interviewing a random sample of staff (of all grades) to assess their knowledge and skills and checking the curriculum, training records and internal audit results.
For universities, a sample of students who have undertaken the course for which accreditation is being sought are interviewed to ascertain whether they have the skills and knowledge to practice in line with Baby Friendly standards. University courses are accredited following a successful Stage 2 assessment.

Stage 3 leading to full accreditation
The facility has implemented the Baby Friendly standards and has been externally assessed by UNICEF. This assessment involves interviewing mothers about the care they have received and reviewing policies, guidance and internal audits.

Full Accreditation - Re-accredited
Accreditation lasts for 2 years after which a re-assessment of all the standards takes place. Subsequently re-assessments take place every 1-5 years depending on how well the facility is deemed to be maintaining the standards. 

Accreditation suspended
Suspension occurs following the re-assessment of an accredited facility where care was found to be below the standard required. Suspension lasts up to 12 months and is to allow the facility to improve care prior to another re-assessment.

Re-assessment pending
A scheduled reassessment has not taken place due to significant issues within the facility for example, re-organisation, re-location or serious illness of a key member of staff.

Further assessment required
Several criteria at re-assessment have not been met and a further re-assessment is required to take place before the award can be confirmed.